APLB Bakuchiol Propolis Ampoule Serum 40ml
APLB Bakuchiol Propolis Ampoule Serum is a 40ml gel-serum built on a brand-stated 30.7% BAKUCHI PRO CEN™ complex — Centella Asiatica Leaf Water (30.5%), Bakuchiol, and Propolis Extract (2,000ppm) — positioned as a gentler, retinol-alternative option for dullness, uneven texture, and early photoaging signs. Bakuchiol's exact concentration in this formula is disputed between sources (see the Ingredient Transparency section) — treat any specific percentage claim with caution. Skip it if you have a bee/propolis allergy, or if you are already using a prescription retinoid without your dermatologist's guidance on combining the two.
At-a-Glance (Is this for you?)
Values You Can Trust: 100% Genuine | Fragrance-Free
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Brand | APLB |
| Product Type | Ampoule Serum |
| Net Volume | 40ml |
| Key Complex | BAKUCHI PRO CEN™ 30.7% (Bakuchiol + Propolis Extract 2,000ppm + Centella Asiatica Leaf Water 30.5%) |
| Skin Types | Combination-to-dry, retinol-sensitive skin |
| Primary Concern Targeted | Dullness, uneven texture, early photoaging, mild blemishes |
| AM/PM Suitability | Either — Bakuchiol is more photostable than retinol, but PM is still the more conventional slot for a renewal active |
| Routine Complexity | Moderate |
| MFDS Classification | General Cosmetic |
Pros:
- Retinol-like turnover support with published lower irritation risk
- Propolis adds real antimicrobial/antioxidant literature at the ingredient-class level
- Fragrance-free, lightweight gel-serum texture
Honest caveats:
- Not vegan — Propolis is bee-derived, despite some retailer pages loosely describing this line as vegan-friendly
- Exact Bakuchiol concentration is disputed between sources (100ppm vs. an estimated 0.45-0.70%) — not resolved by brand disclosure
- Medium irritation potential per one independent ingredient-analysis review (WIMJ), despite the gentler-than-retinol framing
Age and Tween Suitability (Parental Guide)
Classification: YELLOW. Bakuchiol is gentler than retinol but is still a genuine renewal active, not a plain hydrator — better suited to teens 16+ or younger teens under dermatologist guidance for photoaging-adjacent concerns, which are uncommon before adulthood anyway.
Low-Energy and Burnout Viability (For tough days)
Compatibility checklist: No sink needed — yes. Requires rinsing — no. Requires precise dosage — no, approximate drops are fine. Can be a single-product routine — yes, on a very low-energy day this plus a moisturizer is a workable minimum.
Quick Start (60-Second Essentials)
Step 1 (When): AM and/or PM. Step 2 (How much): 2-3 drops or 1 pump. Step 3 (How): Press into slightly damp skin; do not rub.
The one rule: Introduce this as the ONLY new product in your routine. Wait a full 14 days before adding anything else. This isolation window ensures you can identify whether any reaction is caused by this specific product.
AM Routine Guide (Morning sequence)
1. Cleanse. 2. Toner if used. 3. Apply this serum. 4. Moisturizer. 5. Sunscreen.PM Routine Guide (Evening sequence)
1. Double cleanse. 2. Toner if used. 3. Apply this serum. 4. Moisturizer.How to Use (Amounts, technique, and tips)
Dosage: 2-3 drops (add 1 more for the neck if used there). Technique: Pat/press, do not rub — friction degrades the formula and increases irritation. Required skin state: Slightly damp skin helps a water-based serum spread evenly.
Cotton pad vs. hands: Hands deliver 100% of product. Cotton pads absorb approximately 30-40%. Use hands unless applying as an exfoliant swipe.
Routine Encyclopedia (Where every product type fits)
This is an encyclopedia map of all product types. You do not use all of these daily. You select modules based on your skin state.
Global rules: Viscosity ladder — thinnest to thickest, water-phase before oil-phase, treatments before seals. Wait-time defaults: watery layers 10-20 seconds, serum layers 30-60 seconds, before sunscreen 10-15 minutes if going outdoors or applying makeup. Amount defaults unless brand-specific guidance overrides: watery toner/essence 5-8 drops per layer; serum/ampoule 2-3 drops or 1 pump; eye product half a rice-grain per eye; gel moisturizer 1-1.5 peas, cream moisturizer 1-2 peas; occlusive seal rice-grain to pea-size; sunscreen the 2-finger rule for the face plus one finger for the neck. Hydrators go on slightly damp skin; retinoids go on fully dry skin (wait 10 minutes after cleansing if sensitive); exfoliating acids go on dry or lightly damp skin depending on tolerance, and stay in one lane per night. If the routine pills, stings, or feels heavy, reduce layers rather than adding more.
| # | AM step | Amount / wait |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rinse / gentle cleanse (optional) | 1-2 pumps; use if skin feels oily or sweaty on waking |
| 2 | pH-prep / balancing toner (optional) | 5-8 drops, wait 10-20s |
| 3 | Hydrating toner layers (1-3, optional) | 5-8 drops per layer, wait 10-20s between; in high humidity one layer is often enough |
| 4 | Essence (optional) | 5-8 drops, wait 10-20s; choose toner layering OR essence, not both, if you pill easily |
| 5 | Mist / thermal water (optional) | 1-2 sprays, wait 10s |
| 6 | Booster / soothing serum (optional) | 2-3 drops, wait 30-60s |
| 7 | Antioxidant lane (optional, pick one) | L-Ascorbic Acid on dry skin, wait 1-3 min; or a gentler antioxidant, wait 30-60s |
| 8 | Pigment-support lane (optional, pick one) | TXA / arbutin / azelaic if AM-tolerated, 2-3 drops, wait 30-60s; always pair with daily SPF |
| 9 | Hydration serum lane (optional) | HA / beta-glucan on damp skin, 2-3 drops, wait 30-60s; seal with moisturizer, especially in AC |
| 10 | Oil-control / sebum lane (optional, pick one) | niacinamide/zinc, 2-3 drops, wait 30-60s |
| 11 | Peptide / growth-factor / repair lane (optional) | 2-3 drops, wait 30-60s |
| 12 | Eye serum/cream (optional) | half a rice-grain per eye, wait 10-20s |
| 13 | Moisturizer | gel 1-1.5 peas / cream 1-2 peas; wait 1 minute before sunscreen if pilling-prone |
| 14 | Optional sealing layer (only if dry/AC) | rice-grain to pea-size, wait 1-2 min |
| 15 | Sunscreen SPF50+ PA++++ (non-negotiable) | 2-finger rule + 1 finger for neck, wait 10-15 min; reapply every 2 hours of sun exposure |
| 16 | Lip SPF (optional but ideal) | 1 swipe, reapply like sunscreen |
In AM, prioritize comfort and SPF adherence over stacking. In high humidity, fewer layers often perform better.
| # | PM step | Amount / wait |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Micellar (optional pre-cleanse) | enough to saturate a cotton pad; use for heavy makeup or stubborn sunscreen |
| 2 | Oil cleanser / balm (if wearing SPF/makeup) | 1-2 pumps or a grape-size scoop; massage dry, emulsify with water, rinse |
| 3 | Water cleanser (second cleanse) | 1-2 pumps, 30-60s, rinse; dry skin after if using retinoids that night |
| 4 | pH-prep toner (optional) | 5-8 drops, wait 10-20s |
| 5 | Hydrating toner layers (optional) | 5-8 drops per layer, wait 10-20s; stop if it feels tacky |
| 6 | Essence (optional) | 5-8 drops, wait 10-20s |
| 7 | Soothing / barrier serum (optional) | 2-3 drops, wait 30-60s |
| 8 | Anchor product (this product) | use its own default dose; if a retinoid, apply to fully dry skin and wait 2-5 min before moisturizer if sensitive; if an acid/exfoliant, wait 1-3 min; otherwise 30-60s |
| 9 | Targeted serum (optional, only if non-conflicting) | 2-3 drops, wait 30-60s |
| 10 | Moisturizer | gel 1-1.5 peas / cream 1-2 peas, wait 1 minute |
| 11 | Sleeping mask (optional) | thin layer; use on dry or barrier-support nights |
| 12 | Occlusive seal (optional; avoid if clog-prone) | rice-grain to pea-size |
| 13 | Spot treatment / pimple patch (as needed) | rice-grain on the lesion, or patch pressed 5 seconds |
| 14 | Lip sleeping mask (optional) | thin swipe |
Do not layer retinoids with AHA/BHA in the same night; keep "one lane" per night.
One-lane rule: Retinoid OR Exfoliation OR Strong Vitamin C (LAA) OR Acne-control active per routine; barrier/hydration can always accompany. If unsure, default to the safest lane — barrier/hydration — and reduce layers.
Viscosity and Layering Science (Where it fits)
Viscosity tier: Water-thin ampoule serum. Apply after toner/essence, before moisturizer. Phase: Water-based — layers cleanly with other water-phase products, apply before any oil/silicone-based step.
What to Expect (Results timeline)
| Phase | Timeframe | What You Will Notice |
|---|---|---|
| Immediate | 0-24h | Surface hydration/softness; temporary, not structural |
| Adjustment | Week 1-2 | Possible mild tingling if using actives for the first time; discontinue if burning persists beyond 30 seconds |
| Epidermal Turnover | Week 4-6 | First real concern-specific results, aligned with one turnover cycle |
| Dermal Remodeling | Week 8-16 | Deeper structural changes where the active genuinely supports this (see Targeted Concerns) |
| Maintenance Plateau | Ongoing | Results stabilize; continued use maintains rather than compounds further |
Who Should Use This (Clinical triage)
Prerequisites: A functioning cleanse-and-moisturize routine and daily SPF if used in the AM. Without these foundations, an active-containing product causes more harm than benefit.
| Tier | Condition |
|---|---|
| Proceed if | Barrier intact, consistent SPF user, not pregnant/nursing, no active eczema, age 16+ |
| Pause if | Compromised barrier, no SPF habit, currently purging from another active |
| Stop/Consult if | Active eczema/psoriasis, pregnant or nursing, on prescription retinoids, known allergy to a listed ingredient |
Skin Type Compatibility
| Skin Type | Compatibility | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Dry/Normal | Good fit | Primary use case |
| Oily/Combination | Good fit | Lightweight, water-forward texture layers well under sunscreen |
| Sensitive | Use with caution | Patch test given the active load; introduce per the one-rule isolation window |
Targeted Concerns (What it treats)
Primary target: Dullness, uneven texture, and early photoaging — Bakuchiol supports turnover with a gentler side-effect profile than retinol, while Propolis adds antioxidant support.
What this product cannot do: It cannot fully replicate decades of retinol clinical data, and it cannot treat active cystic acne on its own.
Best Paired With (Synergistic pairings)
Best paired with (same complex, richer texture):
- Primary pick: APLB Bakuchiol Propolis Facial Cream 55ml. Apply this serum first, then seal with the cream.
Conflict Solver and Scheduling Templates (Avoiding irritation and deactivation)
This is a conflict-solver for ACTIVE ingredients. If you run multiple actives, use these rules to avoid irritation, deactivation, and barrier damage.
Bakuchiol vs. true retinoids: Bakuchiol is chemically distinct from retinol (a meroterpene phenol, not a Vitamin A derivative) and published comparative studies show it causes less irritation, but treat it as occupying the same "active-strength renewal" lane as a retinoid for scheduling purposes — do not layer this with a separate prescription retinoid/tretinoin the same night. Instead: alternate nights, or use this in the AM and a prescription retinoid at night if your dermatologist has approved combining them.
vs. AHA/BHA exfoliants: Generally better tolerated together than true retinol + acids, but if you are new to actives, keep them on alternate nights until you know your tolerance.
Barrier override: If moisturizer stings or skin feels tight within 30 minutes of cleansing, pause all actives (including this one) and run barrier-only for 3-7 days.
Stress, Cortisol and Your Skin
Centella Asiatica's real anti-inflammatory literature supports using this serum on days skin feels reactive from heat or stress, though it is not a medicated treatment.
Wudu and Prayer Compatibility
Permeability: Water-Permeable (wudu-compatible). This ampoule serum is a water-based, non-film-forming leave-on with no waxes or silicones creating an occlusive barrier, so water reaches the skin normally during ablution.
Adilsons provides this assessment based on the product's physical properties. Rulings on wudu validity vary between scholars. Consult your own trusted Islamic authority.
Myth Replacement (Common misconceptions)
MYTH: "Bakuchiol has zero irritation risk since it's natural." REALITY: An independent ingredient-analysis review rated this specific formula's irritation potential as medium — "gentler than retinol" is a relative, not absolute, claim.
Climate Fit for Mauritius
| Season | Conditions | Adjustment |
|---|---|---|
| Summer (Dec-Mar) | Hot, humid | A thin layer performs better than usual; watch for pilling under sunscreen |
| Winter (Jun-Sep) | Cooler, drier | Layer under a slightly richer moisturizer if skin feels tight |
| Cyclone season (Jan-Mar) | Humidity swings | No specific change beyond your normal routine |
Mauritius tap water hardness varies by region (harder in parts of the Plaines Wilhems and Moka corridor); hard water can leave a mineral film on skin that reads as tightness after rinsing, so a hydrating toner step after cleansing helps counteract that residue regardless of which product you use next.
July-November is Mauritius' sugar cane burning season, when ambient PM2.5 rises; this product's finish does not noticeably increase particulate adhesion, so no seasonal adjustment is required beyond your normal daily sunscreen and antioxidant habits.
Complete Ingredient Transparency
Hero actives:
| Ingredient | Concentration | Evidence Grade | Mechanism |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bakuchiol | Disputed between sources: one retailer listing states 100ppm (0.01%); an independent ingredient-position estimate suggests 0.45-0.70%. Not resolved by brand disclosure. | Moderate-Strong (ingredient class; retinol-alternative) | Activates retinoic-acid-receptor-adjacent pathways to support turnover and collagen signaling, with published lower irritation than retinol |
| Propolis Extract | 2,000ppm (0.2%) | Moderate | Antioxidant and traditionally antimicrobial resin-derived ingredient |
*Clinical evidence is based on in-vitro (lab cell) or small-sample studies at the ingredient-class level, not a study on this exact product. In-vivo (human skin) results on this specific formula may differ. This does not mean the ingredient is ineffective — it means the evidence tier is lower.
Full INCI list: Water, Centella Asiatica Leaf Water (30.5%), Butylene Glycol, Propanediol, Glycerin, and the brand's shared botanical-extract/preservative tail (Diethoxyethyl Succinate, Solanum Melongena Fruit Extract, Melaleuca Alternifolia Leaf Extract, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Beta-Glucan, Hippophae Rhamnoides Fruit Extract, Nelumbo Nucifera Extract, Artemisia Annua Extract, Oryza Sativa Extract, Saccharomyces Ferment) consistent with this sub-line's pattern, with [--- Estimated 1% Line ---] Bakuchiol and Propolis Extract (2,000ppm) sitting below it. A full line-by-line INCI in brand-disclosed order was not independently re-verified for this exact SKU during this research pass — WebFetch was blocked for the underlying source pages (confidence medium).
Allergens and Fragrance Disclosure
EU 26 allergen screen: None of the 26 EU-regulated fragrance allergens detected in the declared INCI. Tea Tree here is a leaf extract, not the essential oil.
Scent: No detectable added scent beyond a faint herbal note from Centella Asiatica.
Cross-Reactivity and Drug Interactions
Cross-reactivity map: Propolis Extract is a bee-derived ingredient. If you have a known bee sting, pollen, or Balsam of Peru allergy, patch test carefully before full-face use, since propolis cross-reactivity in already-allergic individuals is documented in contact-dermatitis literature.
Conscious and Permissible Formulation
Halal: No formal Halal certificate was found for APLB during research. Contains Propolis (a bee product, generally considered halal by most scholarly views, though observant users should confirm with their own authority) and Hydrolyzed Collagen (source species undisclosed).
Vegan: Not vegan: contains Propolis Extract (bee-derived) and Hydrolyzed Collagen (animal-derived, source undisclosed) — despite some third-party retailer pages loosely describing this line as a "vegan option," the actual INCI contradicts that.
Cruelty-Free: Brand-stated policy; not independently listed on PETA's Beauty Without Bunnies or the Leaping Bunny database at the time of writing.
*Self-assessed by Adilsons based on available INCI data. No ethanol from fermentation, no porcine-derived ingredients, and no haram animal-derived ingredients detected in the declared ingredient list. This is NOT a formal Halal certification. Muslims with stricter requirements should consult their own scholars.
*Brand-stated policy. Not independently certified by Leaping Bunny, PETA, or equivalent third-party audit. Whether APLB sells through Mainland China retail channels that could carry a post-market animal-testing requirement is not confirmed either way.
Microplastic-Free: Yes — no insoluble plastic microbeads detected in the declared INCI.
Evidence, Regulation and Claims
MFDS Classification: Not confirmed as a Korean Functional Cosmetic — treat as a General Cosmetic unless stated otherwise.
Evidence confidence: Medium at the ingredient-class level for the named actives; Low/Marketing-adjacent* for brand efficacy claims specific to this exact SKU, since no independent clinical study on this formula was found.
*Clinical evidence is based on in-vitro (lab cell) or small-sample studies at the ingredient-class level, not a study on this exact product. In-vivo (human skin) results on this specific formula may differ. This does not mean the ingredient is ineffective — it means the evidence tier is lower.
Product Identity and Provenance
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Brand | APLB |
| Net Volume | 40ml |
| Country of Manufacture | South Korea (brand HQ Incheon; specific manufacturing site not publicly disclosed) |
| PAO | Not confirmed on public listings — check the packaging for a printed PAO symbol |
Sensory and Chemical Profile
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Texture | Water-thin serum |
| Absorption Speed | Fast (under 60 seconds) |
| Finish | Non-tacky, dry-touch |
Fungal Acne Safety: FA-Conditional. The declared INCI contains Trideceth-10, which fungal-acne-safety trackers (folliculitisscout.com, sezia.co, skincarisma) commonly flag as a Malassezia food source at leave-on concentrations. If you are fungal-acne prone, patch test on the jawline for 5-7 days before full-face use.
Pilling Risk and Texture Mechanics
Assessment: Low-to-Medium. Water-based active formulas can pill if layered over a not-yet-absorbed silicone-heavy product; wait for full absorption between steps and pat rather than rub.
Stability, Spoilage and Oxidation
Color baseline: Check the product description above for this formula's expected color; any browning/yellowing beyond that, or a sour smell, signals oxidation.
Storage: Keep away from direct sun and bathroom humidity/heat; Mauritius bathroom conditions accelerate preservative breakdown once opened.
Spoilage signs: Off smell, separation that won't remix, visible mold or texture change. When in doubt, discard.
Safety and Patch Test Protocol
Patch test: Apply a small amount to the inner forearm and wait 24 hours; if clear, apply behind the ear and wait another 24 hours; only then begin facial use.
72-Hour Barrier Reset: If you get an adverse reaction: STOP ALL ACTIVES. For 72 hours, use ONLY a gentle cleanser, a plain moisturizer, and mineral SPF. No acids, retinoids, Vitamin C, exfoliants, or essential oils. After 72 hours, reintroduce one product per 14 days.
Emergency stop signals: hives, swelling, blistering, persistent burning, or breathing difficulty — stop use immediately and seek medical care.
Troubleshooting Guide
| If You Experience | Likely Cause | Solution |
|---|---|---|
| Pilling when layering | Too many film-formers stacked, or applying over not-yet-absorbed layers | Reduce layers, wait longer between steps, pat rather than rub — see the Pilling Risk section. |
| Stinging on application | Barrier compromise, or an active layered on top of another active | Reduce frequency, and if it persists more than a few uses, run the 72-Hour Barrier Reset before resuming. |
| Breakouts in weeks 2-6 | Could be purging (usual breakout zones, resolves in 4-6 weeks) or a genuine reaction (new zones, burning, hives — stop immediately) | See What to Expect for the Purge vs. Reaction table. |
| Increased oiliness after starting | Over-cleansing or barrier stripping elsewhere in the routine, not this product itself | Check your cleanser's pH and frequency before blaming this product. |
| Dryness or flaking | Over-exfoliation elsewhere in the routine, or under-moisturizing | Add a proper moisturizer step, reduce actives frequency, run the 72-Hour Reset if severe. |
| No visible change after 8 weeks of consistent use | Wrong concern match, or a concentration too low for your specific concern severity | Re-check whether your actual concern is what this product's actives target, and consider a stronger in-catalog step-up. |
| Formula smell or color changed | Oxidation or spoilage | Discard — see Stability, Spoilage and Oxidation. |
Common Mistakes to Avoid
Common mistakes: Using this alongside another same-lane active without spacing them out; applying to wet-not-damp skin (diluting the formula); skipping SPF on days it's used in the AM; expecting week-one results from a product whose real effects need one full turnover cycle; over-applying, thinking more product means faster results.
Usage Economics (How long it lasts)
Usage math: 40ml at roughly 0.5-1ml (2-3 drops) per use gives approximately 40-80 uses.
Used once or twice daily, that is roughly 4-8 weeks; reorder about 2 weeks before you expect it to run out.
Complete Your Routine (Exact routine and pairings)
AM: 1. Cleanse. 2. Toner if used. 3. Apply this serum. 4. Moisturizer. 5. Sunscreen.
PM: 1. Double cleanse. 2. Toner if used. 3. Apply this serum. 4. Moisturizer.
Bundle: this serum followed by APLB Bakuchiol Propolis Facial Cream 55ml.
After purchasing, you will receive our skincare education email series covering this product in depth.
The recommendations above are based on formulation synergy with this product, not on margin or stock levels. If a pairing does not exist in our catalog, we say so. If you already own a product that fills the same role, use what you have first.
Is This the Best Choice? (Mindful alternatives)
For a true retinoid instead of a retinol-alternative, or a non-bee-derived repair option:
- Primary pick: APLB Spicule Retinol Shot 180 Serum 40ml.
- Alternative: APLB Snail Mucin Ginseng Ampoule Serum 40ml.
Why Choose This Over the Alternative?
Choose this Bakuchiol serum over the Spicule Retinol Shot serum if you want a gentler entry point into renewal actives or cannot tolerate true retinol; choose the Retinol Shot if you want a validated, decades-researched retinoid instead.
The No-Buy Redundancy Check
This product's primary function is described in the Atomic Answer above. You do not need it if you already own another product built around the same primary active at a similar or higher concentration — finish that one first. Stacking assessment: adding this alongside a different-pathway active (e.g., pairing brightening with barrier repair) is typically Significant Benefit; stacking two products chasing the same single active is No Benefit.
Sourcing and Authenticity
This product is sourced through authorized Korean distributors — primarily Craver Co., Ltd (South Korea), alongside other verified distribution partners. Craver is a major Korean beauty distributor and the parent company of SKIN1004, handling authorized distribution for multiple K-beauty brands. All products are shipped directly to Mauritius via verified channels.
For comprehensive information about how we verify authenticity, our layered verification system, and how to check your product at home, visit our dedicated Authenticity and Trust page.
Quick verification tips: check for a printed batch code on the packaging (tube crimp, box base, or bottle underside) rather than a loose sticker.
About APLB
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Brand | APLB |
| Parent Company | UL Corporation Co., Ltd. |
| Founded | 2017 |
| Headquarters | Incheon, South Korea |
| Manufacturing | Not publicly confirmed whether in-house or contract (OEM/ODM) |
APLB stands for "A Plus B" — the brand pairs two well-evidenced actives (the "A" and "B" named in most of its product titles) into a single named complex, printing the exact combined concentration directly on the packaging rather than hiding it behind a vague marketing name.
The brand positions itself against the K-beauty category's tendency toward exaggerated claims and premium pricing, aiming instead for transparent ingredient disclosure at a moderate price point. No brand-wide cruelty-free, vegan, or Halal certification from a checkable third-party body (PETA's Beauty Without Bunnies, Leaping Bunny, a named Halal certifier) was found during research — treat brand claims as brand-stated unless a specific SKU's own certificate is confirmed.
Genuine Community Experiences
Retailer-quoted feedback describes skin "looking great since using the product," noting it is "fragrance free, not drying, gentle on the skin." One independent ingredient-analysis site rated its formulation effectiveness at 75/100. No independently aggregated Reddit thread or verified star-rating dataset was found for this exact SKU during research — these are individual, paraphrased data points, not a verified community consensus.
Packaging and Practical Details
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Net Volume | 40ml |
| Closure Type | Dropper or pump bottle (check your unit) |
Sustainability: Rinse and check local recycling codes; not stated as refillable.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is bakuchiol as effective as retinol?
Published head-to-head studies show comparable improvements in fine lines/pigmentation with less irritation, though the evidence base is smaller than retinol's decades of research; individual results vary.
Can I use this during pregnancy?
Bakuchiol is not a retinoid and is generally considered a pregnancy-safer retinol-alternative in current cosmetic literature, but dedicated safety data in pregnant women remains limited — discuss with your prenatal care provider before use.
What is the actual bakuchiol percentage in this serum?
Sources disagree — one retailer listing states 100ppm while an independent ingredient-position estimate suggests 0.45-0.70%; APLB has not published a definitive number for this exact SKU.
Can I combine this with Vitamin C?
Generally yes, more so than with true retinol, though introduce one at a time if you are new to actives.
Is this suitable if I have a bee allergy?
Patch test first, or avoid — Propolis is bee-derived and cross-reactivity is possible in bee/pollen-allergic individuals.
Glossary
- Bakuchiol
- A plant-derived (Psoralea corylifolia seed) meroterpene phenol marketed as a gentler retinol alternative.
- Propolis
- A resin-like substance bees produce, used in cosmetics for its antioxidant/antimicrobial properties.
- Retinoic acid receptor
- The cell receptor retinoids (and, to a lesser extent, bakuchiol) bind to trigger turnover and collagen signaling.
The Adilsons Promise
Every product sold by Adilsons Beauty is 100% genuine, sourced through authorized Korean distribution channels. Full details on our verification system: Authenticity and Trust.
Our team is available to help you build a routine, troubleshoot reactions, and answer ingredient questions. WhatsApp: +230 5 778 2336.
For in-depth skincare education, visit our blog at adilsons.mu/blogs/k-beauty or subscribe to our email to get our guided education series delivered to your inbox.
Delivery and Returns — Mauritius
Coverage: Island-wide delivery (Mauritius).
Processing and Timing: Orders process in 1-2 business days; usually ready by Day 3 for pickup by our delivery partners/regional team. Partner collection can take up to 1 week. After pickup, delivery typically takes 1-5 business days (weekdays only).
Express: May be available by region; request on WhatsApp: +230 5 778 2336.
Liquids/Sensitive Items: Serums, toners, liquid makeup (and kits containing liquids) are pickup or door-to-door only; checkout enforces this.
Scheduling: Deliveries run by region on set schedules; we will contact you the evening before.
Pickup: Citadelle Mall pickup available.
Returns: No change-of-mind exchanges.
Refunds (Summary): For defective/damaged on receipt (report within 48h), wrong item, or manufacturing defect within 6 months. Refunds via bank transfer (7-10 business days); card refunds may incur a 5% processor fee (fee not charged for defects/order errors). Opened skincare/personal-care items are non-returnable (except if damaged on delivery).
Source of Truth: This is a quick snapshot. If anything differs, the policy pages are final.
Store Policies: For the most up-to-date information, please review our Shipping Policy and Refund Policy.
The Final Verdict
Best for: Retinol-sensitive skin wanting a gentler renewal-active alternative.
Key benefits: Published lower irritation than retinol at the ingredient-class level; real antioxidant support from Propolis.
Keep in mind: Not vegan; exact Bakuchiol concentration is disputed between sources; still occupies the same active-lane as a retinoid for scheduling purposes.
Oncology and Treatment-Sensitized Skin
Assessment: Consult Oncologist. Bakuchiol occupies the same cell-turnover-active lane as a retinoid; renewal-active products are commonly paused during active cancer treatment regardless of whether they are technically a retinoid, so confirm with your care team before use.
Consult your oncology care team before introducing any new skincare products during treatment.